The Florida Building Code (FBC) is a state law, which requires Florida residents to maintain all building materials, equipment and fixtures in a state-approved and licensed safe condition, with proper maintenance procedures.
But many people don’t know that, if they do, they can get a hefty fine for failing to comply with the law.
According to the Florida Building Standards, a building must have a “minimum of 10% drywall.”
However, that does not mean the code requires a minimum of 10%.
It merely requires the minimum of ten percent drywall to be installed, with a minimum requirement of four inches for every foot of foundation, according to the FBC website.
When a building owner or contractor fails to adhere to the code, they could be fined as high as $500 per day.
However, the FBS also notes that, depending on the severity of the violation, the fine could be increased to $10,000 per day, or $500,000 in total.
This article originally appeared on Bleacher Sports.